Sign of the recession: The long arm of telemarketing reaches from Arizona to Saudi Arabia

Oct. 12, 2009

Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

I have to give props to the Phoenix Ryder truck local franchisee who somehow managed to send a telemarketing pitch from his Phoenix operation to my apartment in the capital of Saudi Arabia, Riyadh.

Bear in mind that I don’t have a Saudi driver’s license and I would be dead meat within minutes if I tried to actually negotiate what is loosely called traffic here — it’s more like a carnival Dodgem Car ride.

Nevertheless the gentleman reached across North America, the Atlantic Ocean, a goodly part of Europe and the Arabian Peninsula to touch my VoIP phone. He seemed to think I needed a truck.

Well, I could use a truck, in fact. But I think I’ll stick to cabs and the jitney buses that blur down the streets at a cost of  a mere 2 riyals (about 50 cents).Jitney-side-people-blur2-150

In case “VoIP” is new to you, I’ll just say that it’s essentially a matter of using your computer to make telephone calls via the Internet.  As it happens, I set mine up with a 602 area code, which is how the Ryder guy mistakenly (one hopes) called me and left a message on my VoIP voice mail.

All I can do for you, Mr. Ryder Truck Man, is quote the Dead: Keep on truckin.’

One comment on “Sign of the recession: The long arm of telemarketing reaches from Arizona to Saudi Arabia

  1. Thanks for finally talking about >Sign of the recession: The long
    arm of telemarketing reaches from Arizona to Saudi Arabia | Words in Action: The
    Blog <Liked it!

Leave a Reply

